NESA Youth Officers

OC Council NESA Chapter Youth Officers

Currently registered Eagle Scouts are encouraged to serve as Orange County Council NESA Chapter Youth Officers. Youth officers are active, voting members of the NESA committee, providing leadership and service to strategic initiatives including the annual Eagle Scout Recognition Dinner, Eagle Scout alumni gatherings, Scout-o-Rama booth judging, and NESA membership development.

Youth officer positions include President, Vice President and up to eleven District Representatives. Youth officers are expected to attend the monthly NESA chapter meetings and District Representatives are also expected to attend monthly district roundtables to help share our program and objectives with unit representatives.

The Youth Officer term is currently being realigned from a calendar year term to an academic year term.   The new term will run from June 1st of one year to May 31st of the next year.

OCBSA NESA 2015 – 2016 Youth Officers

Justin Minagar, NESA Youth President
Justin is a Class of 2014 Eagle Scout.  He is 15 years old and is a sophomore at Dana Hills High School in Dana Point.  His currently a member of Troop 772, Chartered by Mission Lutheran Church in Laguna Niguel, in the Tiburon District.   He has held several leadership positions including Asst. Senior Patrol Leader, member of the City of Laguna Niguel Youth Committee, President of the Dana Hills MEDlife Problem Solving Club, founder and President of the Dana Hills Future Business Leaders of America Chapter and President of the Dana Hills Amnesty International Chapter.  Justin is an experienced public speaker and has received certificates of achievement for outstanding public speaking on the NHMS debate team.  He is a 3rd degree black belt and is a webmaster for his Troop.
Joseph Bell Photo Joseph Bell, NESA Youth Vice President
Joseph is a Class of 2013 Eagle Scout. He is a member of Troop 797 in the El Camino Real District. He is currently his troop’s Quartermaster and is very close to having earned every merit badge. He has held leadership positions in a religious group and is co-founder of his high school’s Activity Club.
Cameron Owens Cameron Owens, NESA Youth Vice President
Cameron is  a member of Troop 842 in the Canyons District.  He regular public speaker in his church and school, actively involved in his school’s student council, serves as a Varsity Scouting Team Captain and a Leave No Trace Instructor.  He plays on club his high school’s water polo teams. Cameron was selected as the council’s 2012 NESA Adams Eagle Scout Project of the Year Award winner (Constructing over 300 wheelchairs for third world countries), and received his medal at the 2013 Eagle Banquet.
 Adrian Castaneda Photo Adrian Castaneda, NESA Youth District Representative
Adrian is a Class of 2013 Eagle Scout.  He is a member of Troop 265.  He is active in the Order of the Arrow having been the 2014 TaTanka Chapter Chief and currently the 2015 Wiatava Lodge Treasurer.
Chris Jiang Eagle Chris Jiang, NESA Youth District Representative
Chris is a Class of 2015 Eagle Scout. He is a member of Troop 1210 where is has held the position of Assistant Senior Patrol Leader, High Adventure. He enjoys high adventure events including rock climbing, backpacking, rocketry and trail building.
Vinh Nguyen Photo Vinh Nguyen, NESA Youth District Representative
Vinh is a Class of 2014 Eagle Scout. He is a member of Troop 980 in Fountain Valley in the Pacifica District. He is currently the Sr. Patrol Leader in the Troop.
Jesse Johnson Photo Jesse Johnson, NESA Youth President, Emeritus
Jesse is a Class of 2012 Eagle Scout. He served as Youth President from January through October of 2015.Jesse attended Troy High School in Fullerton and was a member of Troop 525 in Anaheim Hills in the Canyons District. He has held several leadership positions including Jr. Asst. Scoutmaster, Treasurer Wiatava Lodge of Order of the Arrow and Vigil Chief Wiatava Lodge. He was the starting outside linebacker for the Troy Varsity Football team this past fall. Currently he plays on the Troy HS Varsity Basketball team. He participated in “Destination Imagination” where his team won the State title and went to Global Finals two years in a row. He attends St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church and is a member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.