National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year

The National Eagle Scout Association has established the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award to recognize valuable service of an exceptional nature by a Scout to a religious institution, a school, community, or other entity.  The award recognizes the Scout for his Eagle Scout leadership service project, which is part of the requirements for earning the Eagle Scout Award.Each local council will choose a council-level winner, and from that pool, each region will pick a region-level winner.  A national winner then will be selected from the four regional finalists.  By January 21 of each year, an Eagle Scout, his parents, or any registered BSA volunteer (with the Eagle Scout’s permission) may submit his Eagle Scout leadership service project for consideration.  The Scout must have passed his Eagle board of review in the prior calendar year.

Each council NESA committee will choose one winner from among the council nominees.  The winner will receive a certificate and a bronze device for the Eagle Scout embroidered knot from the National Eagle Scout Association.

Regional NESA committees will select one winner for each  Gold Adams Award Device region on or before March 31 each year.  The three regional winners who do not win the national award will each receive $500, to be available for their future educational purposes or to attend a national or international Scouting event or facility. They will also receive a certificate and a gold device for the Eagle Scout embroidered knot.

One national winner will be selected by April 15 of each year, in time to be announced at the National Annual Meeting in May.  The national award winner will receive a certificate, a silver device for the Eagle embroidered knot, and a cash award of $2,500 that will be available for the Scout’s future educational purposes or for him to attend a national or international Scouting event or venue.

Eagle Scout Seth Watkins Honored as 2014 OC Adams Award Recipient

Eagle Scout Russell LoBue Honored as 2013 OC Adams Award Recipient

Eagle Scout Cameron Owens Honored as 2012 OC Adams Award Recipient

Eagle Scout Hayden Hall Honored as 2011 OC Adams Award Recipient and Western Region Winner

Eagle Scout Thomas Bunning Honored as 2010 OC Adams Award Recipient

Submission Guidelines

Nominations must be submitted to the Orange County Council NESA committee on or before January 21 of each year.  The submission must include the application, a name and summary of the project, and the Eagle Scout’s contact information.  A complete duplicate copy of his Eagle Scout Leadership Service Project Workbook (previously submitted by the Scout to his Eagle board of review committee) must be attached to the application.  Including a web link to a video about your project is highly recommended.

Your application and related materials should be submitted to Dave Jarvis.  You may also contact Dave at 714.546.8558 Ext. 153 or via e-mail should you have any questions related to submitting your application.

Evaluation Criteria

Each local council NESA committee shall select one service project of the year from among those meeting the submission guidelines.  The included criteria and other factors are all appropriate for consideration by the committee in selecting the winners.  Evaluation criteria for this award should include consideration of at least the following:

• Project planning required
• Effort to develop the project
• Extent and character of the leadership provided by the Scout
• Extent of achievement of the planned result, including changes or modifications required to complete the project
• Project’s impact on the beneficiary and/or on the community at large
• Originality of the project
• Scope of the work
• Time and materials contributed
• Level of skill employed to complete the project